Management and Board 

Senior Management

Joan Marshall, Executive Director
Phone:  443.769.1024
Carol Kaiser, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Investment  Officer
Phone:  443.769.1021

College Savings Plans of Maryland Board


Nancy K. KoppBoard Chair, has been the Treasurer of the State of Maryland since February 2002.  Prior to that she served in the Maryland House of Delegates for over 27 years.  She has served as Chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Education and Economic Development for the past seven years and served as Assistant Majority Leader and Speaker Pro Tem in the House of Delegates. 

Helene Grady Dec 2012

Helene Grady, Board Vice-Chair, is currently the Vice President for Planning and Budget at The Johns Hopkins University.  Grady joined Johns Hopkins in March 2010, as associate dean for finance and administration in the School of Nursing. Among her previous positions, Grady served as deputy director of finance for the City of Baltimore for nearly five years and as Philadelphia's assistant and then deputy budget director for almost four years. In addition, she has been a commissioner of the Maryland Health Care Commission. She graduated maxima cum laude from La Salle University in 1993 and earned a Master in Public Policy degree in 1996 from Harvard University's John F. Kennedy School of Government.


Lewis A. Robinson, Board Secretary, is Executive Director of the Prince George's County Educators' Association and has served in his current capacity for 16 years.  In addition, Mr. Robinson is the Chair of the Prince George's County Labor Coalition which represents 25,000 public and private employees in Prince George's County.  He has served in this leadership role for 10 years.  Mr. Robinson is also very active in community activities for youth.  Current and former memberships include The Industrial Relations Research Association, NAACP, Chamber of Commerce and Progressive Maryland.


William Kirwan, has been Chancellor of the University System of Maryland since August 1, 2002.  A widely respected academic leader, Dr. Kirwan served as president of Ohio State University for four years, and as president of the University of Maryland, College Park for nine years. Prior to his presidency, he was a member of the University of Maryland faculty for 34 years.


Peter Franchot was elected Maryland's 33rd Comptroller on Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2006. Prior to his election to statewide office, Comptroller Franchot served 20 years in the Maryland General Assembly, in the House of Delegates, representing the residents of Silver Spring and Takoma Park. During his time in the House of Delegates, Peter was a member of the Appropriations Committee and served as Chairman of the Transportation & the Environment Subcommittee. Through his career, he has been a strong advocate for education, health care, transportation and environmental protection initiatives.


Gary Dorsch is co-founder of Allegiance Capital Limited Partnership and president of its management company, Allegiance Capital Management Corporation.  Prior to establishing Allegiance Capital, Gary spent 24 years with Bank of America and its predecessor banks, NationsBank and Maryland National Bank.  During his banking career Gary had executive responsibility for various commercial banking divisions and managed several specialty-banking groups.  Gary was also co-chair of the $17.5 million Towson University Capital Campaign.

John Kenney

John D. Kenney was appointed the Director of the General Accounting Division for the Comptroller of Maryland by Louis L. Goldstein in 1994. John served in that position until his retirement in June 2009. Prior to his appointment, he served as an audit manager with the Office of Legislative Audits and he started his career at KPMG Peat Marwick, a large public accounting firm.  John has served on SECU Credit Union’s Board of Directors since 1996. He has been a member of all standing Board committees and currently serves as Chairman of the Board.  John is a past president of the Maryland Government Finance Officers Association and holds a bachelor degree in accounting from Mount Saint Mary's College and is a Certified Public Accountant.

 Russell Kelley 2

Russell V. Kelley, Ph.D., has spent 42 years in Maryland higher education as both a faculty member and administrator, and retired in 2009 from Morgan State University as Associate Professor of Biology. He is a recipient of fellowships from the General Electric Foundation, the Ford Foundation and the National Science Foundation. He remains active with numerous community boards and organizations, including as Chair of the Morgan State University Science Fair Steering Committee, the Delta Lambda Foundation Board of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Chair of the Cyber Center Mentoring Club of Union Baptist Church, the Maryland Board of Water Works and Waste Management Operators, and the Minority Advisory Board of Baltimore County Public Schools.

Lillian Lowery

Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., is the Maryland State Superintendent of Schools.  Prior to her current role, Dr. Lowery served as Secretary of Education for the State of Delaware from 2009 to 2012. She has worked in various education institutions and programs since 1976. Prior to becoming Secretary of Education, she served for three years as the Superintendent of the Christina School District in New Castle County, DE. She has served as an Assistant Superintendent in Fairfax County, VA, and an Area Superintendent in Fort Wayne, IN. She held other administrative positions, and began her career as an English teacher at the middle and high school levels in Virginia.

Jennie C. Hunter-Cevera, Acting Secretary of Higher Education

CSPM Board's Mission, Vision, Goals

To provide a simple, convenient ways for Maryland  families to save in advance for college and reduce future reliance on loans.

That Maryland will become a state where all families who have college dreams for their children are motivated to save in advance for future college costs.

1. Create and maintain statewide awareness of the College Savings Plans of Maryland by communicating the benefits of plans and results in significant participation among:

    a.  Parents of Newborns through 12th graders
    b.  Grandparents
    c.  Those who are interested in providing for the higher education of a child who may not be a family member

2. Ensure excellence in customer service, records administration and transaction processing for current  participants.

Gov. Larry Hogan 
  Lt Gov Boyd Rutherford

 Governor Larry Hogan


 Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford

CSPM Board and Board Committee Meeting Schedules 

All Board meetings are held on a Thursday from 9:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at 217 E. Redwood Street, Baltimore, MD 21202 with the specific conference rooms to be provided with the meeting agenda. 

Please be aware that the Board and Board Committee meetings are scheduled in advance and are subject to change.  To confirm dates, time and location, you can call the College Savings Plans of Maryland at 443.769.1023.

Portions of the meetings may be held in closed session and meetings may be held to vote to recess into closed session.

2015  (posted 11/3/2014)

Friday, March 20th
Thursday, May 28th
Thursday, June 25th
Thursday, August 27th  
Thursday, September 24th
Thursday, October 29th
Thursday, December 10th

Special Board Meetings

Upcoming Committee Meetings:

Audit and Finance Committee:

Administration & Personnel Committee: